16 Will Get You 20

One of the jobs that I worked during high school was as an assistant secretary at a summer camp.  The counselors were brought in from different countries.  One Male Counselor was gorgeous, 27, South African and very flirtatious. 

I was 16, short, rail thin, had long brown hair, and big hot pink glasses.  I didn’t get a lot of attention from the gentlemanly persuasion.  So I was shy and cute and flirted back…

Then one day, after the Christmas party.  He followed me out to my car, got in uninvited and asked me to marry him.

I said no.

In hindsight, I can say that he was trying to marry me to gain citizenship.  At the time, all I knew was I wasn’t ready to date let alone marry.   Either way, his question to me was completely inappropriate.  He was 11 years my senior and had he done anything sexual with me, it would have been considered rape or at least corruption of a minor. 

If you’re willing to toe the line, be prepared for the law to come after you.  Because they will come after you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

