Anger Hath No Fury…

Recently, I was traveling with a friend.  Things were going less than optimally from the git go, primarily because I was supposed to be ‘in charge’ but the person could not let go of ‘charge’.  By the time we arrived to where we were going, I was ready to throw something.  We had been lost – on ice – and hills – in my little car, talked down to, given attitude, and more or less given attitude. I was done and the day had hardly begun.

Oh and there wasn’t any parking. 

When I went into our location, I asked for the information for the overflow parking… from the information desk.

“What overflow parking?”

“I don’t know anything about that.”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

“I know what you’re talking about, but I won’t give it to you.”

I glared at the person who said the latter.  “Give it to me,” I all but growled. 

I noticed a friend of mine who was not only not coming close but was keeping others from greeting me.  I don’t get angry often, but when I do Watch Out!

“No,” the woman said.  “I think your car will be fine while you sign in.”

“I have someone in the car and I’m blocking people in the parking lot.  Just give me the directions,” I responded as calmly as I was able, but there wasn’t much holding me together.

“They can wait,” she told me, pulling out paperwork.

“No.”  It was a simple word… the anger was pushed way deep down so that I didn’t explode all over the front of the room, spewing anger at anyone in my path. 

The entire information desk stopped and looked at me.  The woman startled and gave me a slip from a pile that was sitting in front of her. 

I thanked her and started to walk away.

“But, you can just pay and sign in here and then you don’t have to worry about it when you get back,” she reasoned.

I didn’t even look back.  “No,” I responded again, and stormed out.  

I didn’t see the woman again when I returned.  I don’t know what happened.  But, I do know that in her trying to help, she was being wholly unhelpful.

Keep that in mind when dealing with an angry woman, who is trying to take control of her life. Don’t assume that she wants your help in any way more than she is asking for it.  You may be more of a hindrance than you mean to be. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

